MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Strange holiday...

Cat

It looks like for the first time since I started learning to cook (maybe age 8? 10? ), I will not be making anything for this Thanksgiving meal. Unless I WANT to... for us just at home.

Our bigDD and her husband will be not only hosting but cooking it all.. :o

No turkey to buy, no pies to bake, no salad or stuffing to make... :blink:

VERY strange...

On the downside - probably not many leftovers in my fridge... :whistling:

I wonder if I'll do this OK. :shrug:

Or if I will be "compelled" to pick up an after-Thanksgiving-sale turkey and do it all again myself... the week after...? :shakinghead:

:behindsofa:

You'll do just fine, Cat. I have faith in you. :happy0203:

Sort of like what MIL is doing to me. She has bought a pre-made rotisserie turkey with all the trimmings, so all I have to do is heat it up for dinner. :shrug:

I am playing with the idea of baking some chocolate chip cookies. Just because. Maybe that will make me feel better about not having to cook all day. LOL

:scratchhead: Well....kinda relating to y'all. But then, my mom has never gotten off the hook for cooking the turkey. Too many barriers ...too many things .... By the time DH and I moved back within travel range to my folks, I could not in any way cook THE T-DINNER! :grinning-smiley-044: So......especially as the years [decades] go by, we try to make sure my mom only has to do turkey [& cranberry sauce cuz no one else knows how she does it....which I told her she needs to tell me this year] .

We've tried the grocery store pre-cooked dinner that you just heat. Certain folks didn't like it....taste was not right. Tried to go out to restaurant....and that also just was not acceptable to certain key folks. So we have been trying to share the jobs and that seems to work the best. We've also simplified as much as we can.