MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Steak & potato soup recipe for canning

Found this recipe last year. It is one of those recipes that is better the second time around. I had fixed it in the crock pot and then froze the left over we did not eat. Since this is a soup recipe my husband liked I want to make more, but I would rather can it than freeze.
Is this recipe safe to can as it is using the preparation instructions (so the potatoes don't get overcooked) & processing time for the beef vegetable stew in the Ball Blue Book? I would omit the oil as well to be safe.

http://www.simplecomfortfood.com/2010/09/19/steak-and-potato-soup/

I'm NOT a canning expert. But safety guidelines are that you don't can starches [potatoes, rice, pasta, etc] with anything else. Especially meat. The reason is that it THICKENS the product. That means it's harder to heat to the temperature needed to kill all microbes...especially toward the center of the jars. That means....it messes up the usual instructions for canning. It's safe to can starches like potatoes in their own separate jars...with their own canning instructions. At meal time, you can add them together in the pot to heat.

That's what I remember from all the :canning: discussions.

Anyone else chime in on this?

MtRider :unsure:

I've canned chicken noodle soup using the teensy tiny slivers of pasta that am able to buy at one of the Mennonite stores we shop at. (check out Janie Pendleton's youtube videos). I've canned just about everything. As with all canning...CYA for yourselves and follow the rules ... look, sniff and tiny taste :-) The only thickeners I use are Permfor (or Clear Gel) for thickeners, not cornstarch. PS...be aware that all spices will intensify when canned, and sage will overwhelm everything (so don't use it!)

Edited by The WE2's