MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Flattop or coil stove for pressure canning?

HighAltitude

Newbie here! My inexpensive electric coil range is dying (death by pressure canning ), and I need advice from all you wonderful experienced canners.

Can you pressure can on a flattop/ceramic/glass stovetop? I'm a clumsy cook with a heavy cast alumimun pressure canner, so I'm leaning toward electric coil again.

Is there an electric coil stove that doesn't overheat and melt the wiring and destroy the contacts for elements? My son is getting tired of filing the contacts so the elements will work and my husband doesn't want to change the burned out wiring again.

What am I doing wrong? I turn down the high heat to the canners as soon as pressure or boiling (for water bath) takes place.

I just recently bought a new stove, and I love it --it's a flat top. One of the burners has an extra large heating coil for 14" pans... just the right size for my pressure cooker!

I was pretty worried about dropping a full, heavy pan on it too, but am not worried as much now that I've had it for several months. It's soooo much nicer than our old one.

Please, please, please....be careful with these flat top stoves. There is a post somewhere... Check your manufacturers warranty. I don't think it's the weight that you have to worry about. It's the amount of heat for the amount of time that it requires for canning. Many of these stoves are not covered under warranty if canning. Please, please, check with your manufacturer---

Oh, and HI!! Welcome High Altitude andn Urban Fool!! Nice to meet ya--come on up to the Sunporch. Everyone would love to meet ya. Cat is giving away chocolate and cheesecake in the LURKER AMNESTY thread. Please join us.

I have a flattop and have SCOURED my manual. It does not reference canning, pressure cookers or large pots at all. Mine is a Frigidaire.