Jump to content


Photo

Stacking Pints in Canner


15 replies to this topic

#1 Cricket

Cricket

    Family Member

  • Users2
  • 2,152 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 04 July 2008 - 12:53 PM

I'm supposed to be able to stack pints in my pressure canner. Does it require a rack between the two layers, or do I just stagger them?

Has anyone done this?
I try to be good....

#2 WormGuy

WormGuy
  • Users2
  • 6,868 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Interests:Gardening, Canning, Making trouble, Night manuvers

Posted 04 July 2008 - 01:08 PM

I always use the rack from the pressure canner to seperate the jars.



wormie
John

2ql74w4.jpg

Utopic denial is what I call it. They’d rather believe everything is just fine than actually have to admit that horrible things still happen.


#3 Darlene

Darlene

    Nobody knows the trouble I've been...

  • Administrators
  • 11,631 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:In the mountains somewhere...
  • Interests:www.shadowwingsfarm.com

Posted 04 July 2008 - 02:07 PM

I take a disposable tin foil pie pan, pound it out flat, and lay it over the tops of the first layer and then place the 2nd layer of jars on top of that.

#4 Dee

Dee
  • Moderators
  • 9,201 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 04 July 2008 - 02:25 PM

I use the racks that came with the canner.

#5 Jeepers

Jeepers

    Family Member

  • Users2
  • 7,740 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Hoosier In Ohio

Posted 04 July 2008 - 02:50 PM

That's a good tip Darlene. I wondered how I'd do a second stack. Thanks!

Dee, mine only came with one rack. But I could get two rows of half pints or those smaller flat jelly jars in there. Back when I bought my canner in the 70's I think there were only quart and pint size jars.

Unfurl your big girl wings and fly

Me


#6 Violet

Violet

    Family Member

  • Users2
  • 3,425 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 04 July 2008 - 07:46 PM

The rack you use between layers needs to allow for water and heat to flow through. If you use the pie plate, drill holes in it. I got a nice little rack meant for a bbq grill for mine. Got at the Goodwill for 99 cents. Those cake cooling racks work too, if you can find the right size.
You can stack them without a rack, but you must stagger the jars, not one on top of the other.
I can, you can, too !

#7 Cricket

Cricket

    Family Member

  • Users2
  • 2,152 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 05 July 2008 - 08:58 AM

thanks
I try to be good....

#8 Andrea

Andrea

    Family Member

  • Users2
  • 2,302 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Central California
  • Interests:Momming, Gardening, Canning.

Posted 05 July 2008 - 01:39 PM

I thought you could only double stack for water bath canning. Is it safe to double stack for pressure canning?


A woman is like a tea bag - you can't tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water.
Eleanor Roosevelt



#9 Violet

Violet

    Family Member

  • Users2
  • 3,425 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 05 July 2008 - 02:28 PM

Sure is safe. I can stack 2 layers pints, 3 layers of half pints. Sure makes canning faster.

I can, you can, too !

#10 Ferretma

Ferretma

    Family Member

  • Users2
  • 154 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 05 July 2008 - 08:18 PM

Originally Posted By: Andrea
I thought you could only double stack for water bath canning. Is it safe to double stack for pressure canning?

Yes, but be aware it does take a little longer to pressurize and depressurize. Considering that you are cutting out another load, it definitely saves time.

#11 dogmom4

dogmom4

    Honored Family Member

  • Moderators
  • 5,791 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:California
  • Interests:Gardening, dogs, preparing for whatever comes...

Posted 05 July 2008 - 08:20 PM

So do you put the same amount of water in?


"Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle."

#12 Ferretma

Ferretma

    Family Member

  • Users2
  • 154 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 05 July 2008 - 08:21 PM

Yes.

#13 Violet

Violet

    Family Member

  • Users2
  • 3,425 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 06 July 2008 - 05:53 AM

Always use 2-3 inches of water in the pressure canner even if stacking the jars, unless you are doing fish, that takes more water in the canner to start with .
I can, you can, too !

#14 PoGo

PoGo
  • Users2
  • 3,051 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:USA

Posted 06 July 2008 - 01:26 PM

How much more water for fish, and why does it take more? Is it because of the longer processing time? I've been wanting to can some shrimp, if I can find a good sale on it. Would shrimp need more water, too?

#15 Violet

Violet

    Family Member

  • Users2
  • 3,425 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 06 July 2008 - 11:58 PM

Most people put in at least 4 quarts of water. It takes a little more because of the long processing time. My friend just did fish and she said she had only an inch of water left in the canner at the end.
Shrimp don't process as long as the fish, so you don't have to add extra water with it. Just the standard 2-3 inches of water. You also need to acidify the shrimp first with lemon juice.
You will need to check the guidelines for canning shrimp.
I can, you can, too !

#16 PoGo

PoGo
  • Users2
  • 3,051 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:USA

Posted 07 July 2008 - 12:42 AM

OK. Thank you, Violet. smile



Reply to this topic



  

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users